Skip to Content
Skip Navigation


From measuring student performance on specific standards to certifying teachers and administrators, the Department of Education manages a range of assessments across Florida every year. Please use the links below to find out more about our assessments.

K-12 Assessments

  • Florida Assessment of Student Thinking (FAST) Assessments: The FAST progress monitoring and coordinated screening program includes VPK through grade 10 English Language Arts (ELA) Reading and VPK through grade 8 Mathematics assessments that are aligned to the B.E.S.T. Standards and are administered three times per year.
  • End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments: Students in any grade completing courses in Algebra 1, Geometry, Biology 1, U.S. History, or Civics (or their equivalent courses)
  • Statewide Science Assessment: Students in grades 5 and 8
  • Writing Assessment: For the 2022-23 school year, Writing will be administered as a field to a representative sample of Florida students during the spring administration.
  • Florida Standards Assessments (FSA) Retake Assessments: Retake administrations of the FSA Grade 10 ELA Assessment and the FSA Algebra 1 EOC Assessment will be administered during the fall and spring administrations for students who need to participate in the assessment to meet their graduation assessment requirement(s).
  • ACCESS for ELLs: Students in grades K–12, currently classified as English Language Learners, with a code of "LY" participate in ACCESS for ELLs assessments.
  • FCLE (Florida Civic Literacy Exam): Students in any grade completing a U.S. Government course
  • FSA Historical: Last administered in spring 2015, students in grades 3–10 took the English Language Arts FSA and students in grades 3–8 took the Mathematics FSA. Retake administrations of the Grade 10 FSA ELA and the FSA Algebra 1 EOC are still available for students who need the assessments to meet their graduation requirement. (Bureau of K-12 Student Assessment)
  • FAA (Florida Alternate Assessment): Students with significant cognitive disabilities whose participation in the general statewide assessment, even with accommodations, is not appropriate (Bureau of K-12 Student Assessment)
  • National and International Assessments: Representative samples of students selected to participate in NAEP, PISA, PIRLS, and TIMSS (Office of Assessment)
  • High School Equivalency (GED® Test): Individuals (age requirements apply) desiring a high school equivalency diploma (Division of Career and Adult Education/Bureau of Budget, Accountability, and Assessment)

Postsecondary Assessments