Professional Learning Contacts


Pursuant to section 1012.98, Florida Statutes, the Florida Department of Education, public postsecondary educational institutions, public school districts, public schools, state education foundations, consortia and other professional organizations work collaboratively to establish a coordinated system of professional development that increases student achievement, enhances classroom instructional strategies that promote rigor and relevance throughout the curriculum, and prepares students for continuing education and the workforce.

To coordinate this work, each school district—including developmental research schools, education consortiums and some private school organizations—has a professional learning director who supervises and guides the professional learning activities for instructional and non-instructional personnel. These directors ensure that local professional learning activities are planned and implemented effectively.

A list of these professional learning directors and their contact information follows.

School Districts

Alachua
Bessie Criscione
Supervisor, Professional Development
criscionebl@gm.sbac.edu
352-955-7594
Baker
Allen Murphy
Executive Director, Teaching & Learning
everett.murphy@bakerk12.org 
904-259-0404
Bay
Lisa Churchwell
Coordinator, Staff Development & Title II
churcld@bay.k12.fl.us
850-767-4266

Bradford
Sherree Alvarez
Director, Teaching, Learning, & Curriculum
alvarez.sherree@mybradford.us
904-966-6816
Brevard
Michael Alba
Director, Professional Learning & Development
alba.mike@brevardschools.org
321-633-1000 x11240
Broward
Susan Leon-Leigh
Director, Professional Development Standards & Support
susan.leon@browardschools.com 
754-321-5006

Calhoun
Tracie Taylor
Director, Curriculum & Instruction
tracie.taylor@calhounflschools.org
850-674-8734 x232
Charlotte
Laura C. Blunier
Director, Professional Development
laura.blunier@yourcharlotteschools.net 
941-255-7675
Citrus
Lindy Woythaler
Director, Professional Development
woythalerl@citrusschools.org
352-726-1931 x2232

Clay
Jennifer Shepard
Director, Professional Learning
jennifer.shepard@myoneclay.net
904-336-6951
Collier
Dr. Jodi Cronin
Assistant Director, Professional Learning & Digital Innovation
cronij@collierschools.com
239-377-0011
Columbia
Sonya Judkins
Director, Instructional Services
judkinss@columbiak12.com
386-755-8000

DeSoto
Carrie Fuller
Director, Instructional Services
carrie.fuller@destoschools.com
863-494-4222
Dixie
Buddy Schofield
Director, Elementary & Secondary Education
buddyschofield@dixie.k12.fl.us
352-541-6337
Duval
Beverly Walker
Executive Director, Professional Development
walkerb2@duvalschools.org
904-390-2213

Escambia
Brian Alaback
Director, Professional Learning
balaback@ecsdfl.us
850-595-0030 x289
Flagler
Diane Dyer
Executive Director, Teaching & Learning
dyerd@flaglerschools.com
386-437-7526 x1110
Franklin
Jill Rudd
Director, Special Projects
jrudd@franklincountyschools.org
850-670-2810

Gadsden
Ella-Mae P. Daniel
Director, Professional Learning
petersen-daniele@gcpsmail.com
850-627-9651
Gilchrist
Darby Allen
Director, Elementary Education
allend@mygcsd.org
352-463-3200
Glades
Janet Harris
Director, Academic Services

Gulf
Lori Price
Assistant Superintendent, Instruction
lprice@gulf.k12.fl.us
850-229-6940
Hamilton
Carol Milton
Coordinator, Professional Development & FDLRS
carol.milton@fdlrsgateway.com
386-792-2877
Hardee
Kristen Rivas
Director, Curriculum
krivas@hardee.k12.fl.us
863-773-9058 x1225

Hendry
James Sealey
Director, Professional Development
sealeyj@hendry-schools.net
863-674-4555
Hernando
Dr. Paula Clark
Supervisor, Professional Development
clark_p@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 x437
Highlands
Dr. Elizabeth Lindsay
Assistant Superintendent
lindsaye@highlands.k12.fl.us
863-471-5668

Hillsborough
Jamalya Jackson
Executive Director, Professional Development
jamalya.jackson@hcps.net
813-840-7358
Holmes
Pamela Price
Administrator, Instruction
pamela.price@hdsb.org
850-547-9341 x1238
Indian River
Dr. Colleen Lord
Director, Educator Quality
colleen.lord@indianriverschools.org 
772-564-3209

Jackson
Carolyn Pilcher
Director, Elementary Education & Professional Development
carolyn.pilcher@jcsb.org
850-482-1200
Jefferson
Marianne Arbulu
Superintendent
marianne.arbulu@
jeffersonschooldistrict.org

850-342-0512
Lafayette
Alissa Hingson
Director, Teaching & Learning Services
ahingson@lcsbmail.net
386-294-4137

Lake
Amy Cockcroft
Executive Director, Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment
cockcrofta@lake.k12.fl.us
352-742-6903
Lee
Dr. Helen Martin
Assistant Director, Professional Development
helenma@leeschools.net
239-335-1407
Leon
Shane Syfrett
Director, Professional Learning & Curriculum Services
syfretts@leonschools.net
850-487-7837

Levy
John Lott
Assistant Superintendent
john.lott@levyk12.org
352-486-5231
Liberty
Aaron Day
Assistant Superintendent
aaron.day@lcsb.org
850-643-2275
Madison
Robin Hill
Director, Curriculum
robin.hill@mcsbfl.us
850-973-1552

Manatee
Dr. Shirin Gibson
Executive Director, Curriculum & Professional Learning
gibsons@manateeschools.net 
941-751-6550 x43130
Marion
Dr. Kyra Schafte
Director, Professional Leadership & Learning
kyra.schafte@marion.k12.fl.us
352-236-0513
Martin
Heather Padgett
Coordinator, Professional Development
padgeth@martinschools.org
772-219-1200 x30289

Miami-Dade
Wandarece Ruan
Administrative Director
wandarece@dadeschools.net
305-995-7616
Monroe
Robin Fry
Director, Professional Development
robin.fry@keysschools.com
305-853-3222 x56375
Nassau
Tia Brown
Director, Professional Development
brownti@nassau.k12.fl.us
904-491-9888

Okaloosa
Karen Peek
Program Director, Staff Services
peekk@okaloosaschools.com
850-833-5857
Okeechobee
Andi Canaday
Coordinator, Staff Development
andrea.canaday@okee.k12.fl.us
863-462-5000 x1095
Orange
Susan Abbe
Executive Area Director, Professional Development Services
susan.abbe@ocps.net
407-317-3200

Osceola
Janice Franceschi
Director, Professional Development
janice.franceschi@osceolaschools.net
407-518-2940
Palm Beach
Jenifer L. Kuras
Director, Professional Development
jenifer.kuras@palmbeachschools.org
561-649-6839
Pasco
Charlotte Kralik
Program Coordinator, Professional Development
catkins@pasco.k12.fl.us
813-794-2515

Pinellas
Mark Narkier
Director, Professional Development
narkierm@pcsb.org
727-588-6086
Polk
Cheryl Joe
Senior Director, Professional Development
cheryl.joe@polk-fl.net
863-647-4270
Putnam
Jennifer Azula
Director, Teaching & Learning
jazula@my.putnamschools.org
386-329-0538

Santa Rosa
Kelly Short
Director, Inservice and Instructional Technology
shortk@santarosa.k12.fl.us
850-983-5111
Sarasota
Carly Gordon
Program Specialist
carly.gordon@sarasotacountyschools.net
941-927-9000
Seminole
Beth Pocius
Coordinator, Professional Learning
beth_pocius@scps.k12.fl.us
407-320-0036

St. Johns
Melinda Bogart
Director, Professional Development & Evaluations
melinda.bogart@stjohns.k12.fl.us
904-547-7614
St. Lucie
Denise Rodriguez
Director, Talent Development
denise.rodriguez@stlucieschools.org
772-429-7524
Sumter
John Temple
Director, Professional Learning & Accountability
john.temple@sumter.k12.fl.us 
352-748-1510 x51210

Suwannee
Kelli Williams
Coordinator, Professional Development & K-12 Reading
kelli.williams@suwannee.k12.fl.us
386-647-4621
Taylor
Michael Thompson
Director, Special Projects
michael.thompson@taylor.k12.fl.us 
850-838-2512
Union
Michael Ripplinger
Director, Personnel
ripplingerm@union.k12.fl.us
352-448-5145

Volusia
Wafa Picciolo
Coordinator, Professional Learning 
wpicciol@volusia.k12.fl.us
386-734-7190 x20504
Wakulla
Lori Sandgren
Coordinator, Curriculum
lori.sandgren@wcsb.us
850-926-0065
Walton
Myca Chandler
Coordinator, Instructional Supports
myca.chandler@walton.k12.fl.us
850-892-1100 x1410

Washington
Pat Collins
Director, Human Resources
pat.collins@wcsdschools.com
850-638-6222

Other School Districts

Florida Department of Corrections
Suzanne Greene
Specialist, Teacher Certification
suzanne.greene@fdc.myflorida.com
850-717-3173
Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
Randi Mitchell
Executive Director, Curriculum & Professional Development
mitchellr@fsdbk12.org
904-827-2255
Florida Virtual School
Laura Downes
Director, Staff Development
ldownes@flvs.net
727-644-6874

University Schools

Florida A&M University School
Patricia West
Assistant Superintendent
patricia.west@famu.edu
850-412-5930
Florida Atlantic University Schools
Sherry Bees
Director
sbees@fau.edu
561-297-0638
Florida State University School
Suzanne Wilkinson
Principal, K-8; Director, Research & Teacher Education
swilkinson@fsu.edu
850-245-3700

University of Florida University School
Christy Gabbard
Director, Program Development & Outreach
cgabbard@pky.ufl.edu
352-392-1554 x280

Regional Educational Consortiums

Heartland Educational Consortium
Lindsey Johnson
Director, Professional Learning
lindsey.johnson@heartlanded.org
863-531-0444 x202
North East Florida Educational Consortium
Ronda Bourn
Assistant Director, Instructional Services
bournr@nefec.org
386-329-3800
Panhandle Area Educational Consortium
Maria Pouncey, Ed.D
Administrator, Instructional Services
maria.pouncey@paec.org
850-638-6131 x2266

Organizations Serving Private Schools

Association of Christian Schools International
Dr. Barry Morris
Officer, Master Inservice & PEC
bmorris@wmcarey.edu
601-467-2632
https://www.acsi.org/region/floridacaribbean
Association of Independent Schools of Florida
Al Glicksberg
Coordinator, Certification & Inservice
alglicksberg@rivieraschools.com
828-255-1733
www.aisfl.com
Center for the Advancement of Jewish Education
Audrey Maman
Program Manager, School Markets
audreymaman@caje-miami.org
305-576-0307
www.caje-miami.org/

Christian Schools of Florida
Betsy Wilson
Vice President, Teacher Certification & PEC
bwilson@orangewood.org
352-601-3880
www.csfla.org
Florida Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
Dr. Howard Burke
Executive Director
dochgb@aol.com
229-777-7708
www.faccs.org
Florida Catholic Conference
James Herzog
Associate Director, Education
jherzog@flaccb.org
850-205-6823
www.flaccb.org

Florida Council of Independent Schools
Keara Danger
Director, Business & Operations
kdanger@fcis.org
813-287-8820
www.fcis.org
Florida League of Christian Schools
Michael Burroughs
Executive Director
mburroughs@flocs.org
863-683-5726 x251
www.FLOCS.org
Lutheran Florida-Georgia District
Mark Brink
Executive Director
mbrink@flgadistrict.org
407-857-5556 x3
www.flgadistrict.org

Organizations Serving Charter Schools

Florida Consortium of Public Charter Schools
Rebecca Katz
Director, Operations
r.katz@floridacharterschools.org
954-463-9595
www.floridacharterschools.org