21st Century Community Learning Centers

21st Century Community Learning Centers - Program Summary


The purpose of the 21st CCLC program is to provide, to establish or expand community learning centers:
  1. provide opportunities during non-school hours for academic enrichment, including providing tutorial services to help students, particularly students who attend low-performing schools, to meet the challenging State academic standards;
  2. offer students a broad array of additional services, programs and activities during non-school hours such as youth development activities, service learning, nutrition and health education, drug and violence prevention programs, counseling programs, arts, music, physical fitness and wellness programs, technology education programs, financial literacy programs, environmental literacy programs, mathematics, science, career and technical programs, internship or apprenticeship programs, and other ties to an in-demand industry sector or occupation for high school students that are designed to reinforce and complement the regular academic program of participating students; and
  3. offer families of students served by community learning centers opportunities for active and meaningful engagement in their children’s education, including opportunities for literacy and related educational development.

External Organizations Profile:

The Florida Department of Education (FDOE) is required, under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), Title IV, Part B, 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC), to provide a list of prescreened external organizations. The term “external organization” is defined by federal law as “(A) a nonprofit organization with a record of success in running or working with before and after school (or summer recess) programs and activities; or (B) in the case of a community where there is no organization described in subparagraph (A) to receive mentoring and guidance in running or working with before and after school (or summer recess) programs and activities” (ESSA, section 4201(b)(4)).

Please see the organizations identified for 2019-20 below:

  1. Orlando After School All Stars
  2. YMCA of Florida's First Coast
  3. Florida Afterschool Alliance
  4. After School All Stars Tampa Bay
  5. Boys & Girls Clubs of Bay County
  6. Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Florida
  7. Boys & Girls Clubs of Citrus County
  8. Boys & Girls Clubs of Sarasota County
  9. Boys & Girls Clubs of St. Lucie County
  10. Brevard Public Schools
  11. Florida Afterschool Alliance
  12. FTI/Flagler County Schools 21st CCLC
  13. Happy House Inc.
  14. Liberty County School Board
  15. Orlando After-School All-Stars
  16. Read2Succeed, Inc.
  17. Southwest Florida Workforce Development Board
  18. St. Thomas University
  19. St. Thomas University - 21st Century
  20. YMCA of Central Florida
  21. Young Men's Christian Association of Florida's First Coast, Inc.

External Organization Profile Release Memo (Word)


Section 4204(j) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), authorizes State Education Agencies (SEAs) to renew projects awarded under the Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC) program to eligible entities based on the eligible entity’s performance during the preceding subgrant period.
Renewability projects are designed to decrease the likelihood of disruption of services to families and to give families time to transition to other out-of-school time programs as 21st CCLC funding ends. For the 2020-21 project year, this disruption would be magnified due to the impact of exacerbated learning gaps. These projects are also awarded to extend projects during years in which the Florida Department of Education does not offer a 21st CCLC competition. 21st CCLC projects that renew funding will be eligible to renew once for up to two project years, as determined by the Department.
Subrecipients that receive a renewed grant period are required to submit an application for the extended funding period. The scope of work of the project should not change drastically during the extended funding period; grantees should continue to serve a substantially similar population and number of students and families served overall.

Renewal applications will be done through a Request for Applications (RFA). Projects that did not have satisfactory performance during the previous project period are not eligible for renewal. Program sites that are currently funded under another 21st CCLC project are not eligible for funding under renewability. Renewability is subject to the availability of funds from the United States Department of Education (ED). 

Agencies Recommended for Funding Under the 2020-21 21st CCLC RFP

The agencies that have projects recommended for funding for the 2020-21 21st CCLC Statewide Program are listed below.

  • Levy County Prevention Coalition
  • The School District of Palm Beach County (3 projects)
  • Leon County Schools (3 projects)
  • Grace Place for Children and Families
  • The School District of Osceola County, Florida
  • Southwest Workforce Development Board
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of Martin County
  • Gadsden County Schools (2 projects)
  • School District of Manatee County
  • Monroe County School District
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of Tampa Bay
  • Orlando Afterschool All Stars
  • Pasco County Schools
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of Palm Beach County
  • Brevard Public Schools
  • City of Hialeah
  • United Way of the Big Bend (3 projects)
  • Overtown Youth Center
  • YMCA of South Florida
  • City of Orlando
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of Sarasota (2 projects)
  • Miami-Dade County Public Schools
  • Fresh Ministries, Inc.
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of St. Lucie County
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of Sarasota County
  • After School All Stars of Tampa Bay

The agencies that have projects recommended for funding for the 2020-21 21st CCLC Expanded Learning Program are listed below.

  • The School District of Lee County
  • The School District of Osceola County
  • Pinellas County Schools
  • Liberty County School District
  • Broward County Public Schools (2 projects)
  • Jefferson County Schools
  • Orange County Public Schools (2 projects)
  • Sumter County School District
  • Duval County Public Schools
  • St. Lucie Public Schools