STEM

STEM


Provide quality services and resources to build strong foundations for every Florida student in science, technology, engineering and mathematics to produce the future Florida STEM workforce.

What is STEM?

STEM education is the intentional integration of science, technology, engineering and mathematics to create a student-centered learning environment. During STEM education, students use multiple disciplines to investigate and engineer solutions to problems and to construct evidence-based explanations of real-world scenarios.

Mathematics and Science Standards

The mathematics and science standards, as well as standards for every subject, can be found on CPALMS.org. It is the State of Florida’s official source for standards, course descriptions and vetted resources.

Instructional Support

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of STEM education.

Please recognize great teachers in this state by nominating them for this prestigious award!

For further information, please contact Alicia Foy at Alicia.Foy@fldoe.org.

Parent and Student Resources

Legislation

Staff Contact Information

PJ Duncan
Director of STEAM
Bureau of Standards and Instructional Support
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 432
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
Phone: 850-245-0808
Patricia.Duncan@fldoe.org

Ashley M. Harvey
Elementary Mathematics Specialist
Phone: 850-245-0067
Ashley.Harvey@fldoe.org

Courtney Starling
Secondary Mathematics Specialist
Phone: 850-245-9066
Courtney.Starling@fldoe.org

Nancy Narvaez-Garcia
K-12 Science Program Specialist
Phone: 850-245-0946
Nancy.Narvaez-Garcia@fldoe.org

Jennifer Infinger
STEAM Specialist
Phone: 850-245-0078
Jennifer.Infinger@fldoe.org