Skip to Content
Assessments & Publications Archive
Skip Navigation


The Comprehensive English Language Learning Assessment (CELLA) was administered from May 2008 to May 2015 to measure the progress of English Language Learners (ELLs) proficiency in English. The ACCESS for ELLs 2.0 assessments have replaced the CELLA program. 

The CELLA is a four-skill language proficiency assessment developed under contract by Educational Testing Service (ETS) that was designed to provide evidence of program accountability in accordance with Title I and Title III of No Child Left Behind (NCLB). Accountability for ELLs is required under NCLB as measured by annual performance targets. 

The CELLA tested four areas:

  • Listening
  • Speaking
  • Reading
  • Writing

These sections were included in each of the four test levels: Level A (Grades K-2), Level B (Grades 3-5), Level C (Grades 6-8) and Level D (Grades 9-12).

Kindergarten students were administered all four sections of the test, one-on-one with a teacher. Students in grades 1-12 took the Speaking section of the test one-on-one with a teacher; the Listening, Reading, and Writing sections were administered in a group setting.

2015 Communication and Information

General Information

2015 CELLA Parent Information Brochure

2015 CELLA Interpretive Guide

CELLA Reports

AMAO Results


For documentation and information published prior to 2009 please contact the Bureau of Student Achievement through Language Acquisition.