Adult Education

Student Requirements

Student Requirements

This program will provide the option for up to 30 students within Hardee, DeSoto, Manatee, and Sarasota Counties to receive a scholarship for instruction at a private school, provided they meet the following requirements:

  • Have a documented disability
  • Are at least 22 years of age, and have not reached 30 years of age
  • Are receiving instruction from an instructor in a private school to meet high school graduation requirements in Section 1003.428, Florida Statutes
  • Do not have a standard high school diploma or a special high school diploma
  • Receive "supported employment services," (paid employment that is located or provided in an integrated work setting and for which continued support is needed for job maintenance)

If the student chooses to participate, and is accepted by a supported employment services provider, the student must notify the Department of Education of his or her acceptance into the program 60 days before the first scholarship payment and before participating in the pilot program in order to be eligible for the scholarship. In order to be eligible for a September 1 payment, the student must submit a Student Request to Participate no later than July 2nd.

In order to participate, eligible students must submit, by fax or mail, the forms below:

Student Request to Participate (PDF)

Warrant Authorization Affidavit (PDF)

To submit forms by fax:
Fax forms and cover sheet to:
(850) 245-9134, Attention: Workforce Education Pilot

To submit forms by mail:
Florida Department of Education
Office of Independent Education and Parental Choice
Attn: Workforce Education Pilot Program
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1044
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400