Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Miami-Dade Principal Douglas Rodriguez Wins Statewide Council for Educational Change Award

Principal Douglas Rodriguez of Ronald Reagan/Doral Senior High, was honored with the 6th Annual Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award, bestowed by the Council for Educational Change. Mr. Rodriguez was chosen based on three criteria, including raising student achievement, empowering staff leadership and forming meaningful partnerships.

The statewide award recognizes outstanding Principal leadership, and is presented annually to a high-performing Florida Principal. Each award winner is given $10,000 for personal use. The award honors the late Leonard Miller, Council founder and Chair of its predecessor organization, the $100 million South Florida Annenberg Challenge.

Finalists Dr. Rosann Sidener, Principal of Miami Beach Senior High in Miami-Dade and Terry Strong, Principal of Winston Elementary in Polk County, were designated Gold Medallion Winners. Principals Sidener and Strong received $5,000 each.