Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Polk County Seniors Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Eleven Polk County area high school seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship finalists. More than 1.4 million students entered the 2008 National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), and about 15,000 students nationally attain National Merit Scholarship finalist status. The 2008 National Merit finalists, including the 11 Polk students, represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

The high school seniors selected are:

  • Monica Bhutiani Winter Haven
  • Kaleb D. Delk Winter Haven
  • Chrisopher B. Lioi Winter Haven
  • Jaclyn M. Nelson Lake Wales
  • Jasmina A. Ouhri Lakeland
  • Richard J. Schuler Lakeland
  • Emily A. Trogolo Lakeland
  • Caitlin E. Howell Lakeland
  • Elizabeth J. Young Lakeland
  • Tyler E. Bias Lakeland
  • Barbara J. Dinkins Lakeland

These students will now compete for more than 8,200 National Merit Scholarships totaling more than $34 million. National Merit Scholarships will be awarded in the spring and summer of 2008. National Merit scholarships are sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, corporations and colleges.