Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

2007 Presidential Scholars Program Announces Florida Semifinalists

The United States Presidential Scholars Program recently announced the semifinalists for the 2007 award program. Eleven Florida seniors were chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in such areas as academics, artistic success, leadership, and involvement in school and community. The US Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of the nationís most distinguished graduating seniors. Annually, up to 141 students are chosen from among outstanding seniors to become Presidential Scholars.

Following are the Florida students who earned this recognition:
Victoria Alden, Hillsborough Senior High School, Tampa; Lizette Avineri, Dreyfoos School of the Arts, West Palm Beach; Bianca Brewton, New World School of the Arts, Miami; Catherine M. Cottle, Lawton Chiles High School, Tallahassee; Elizabeth P. Galbut, Community School of Naples, Naples; Jeffrey E. Glass, Pine Crest School, Ft. Lauderdale; Jeremy L. Hsu, Winter Springs High School, Winter Springs; Chelsae R. Johansen, Bloomingdale Senior High School, Valrico; Bret A. Voith, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami; Ye Yao, Bartow High School International Baccalaureate Program, Bartow; and Charles M. Zhu, C. Leon King High School, Tampa.