Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Seminole County Students Win Awards of Excellence

Six Seminole County students recently received Awards of Excellence from the National PTA Reflections Program. The program offers students the opportunity to create works of art for fun and recognition in areas such as literature, musical composition, photography and the visual arts. The students were named Best in the State in their age division and art category, and will represent Florida at the national level of the competition. Winners received a letter of recognition, an award certificate and a Reflections medal.

The Award winners are as follows:
Esther W. Wong, Literature, Middle/Junior Division, Jackson Heights Middle School PTSA; Alexandra Navalpotro, Photography, Middle/Junior Division, Sanford Middle School PTSA; Matthew J. DeBonis, Photography, Senior Division, Hagerty High School PTSA; Emilie E. Nelson, Visual Arts, Intermediate Division, Sabal Point Elementary PTA; Michael J. Buchanan, Film/Video, Middle/Junior Division, Sanford Middle School PTSA; and Julie A. Opala, Film/Video, Senior Division, Oviedo High School PTSA

The Reflections Program was started in 1969 by then Colorado PTA President Mary Lou Anderson.