Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Broward County High School Seniors Earn National Achievement Scholarships

Eleven Broward County high school seniors are among the more than 800 recipients nationwide to receive National Achievement Scholarships, presented by the National Achievement Scholarship Program. These outstanding African American students receive scholarships totaling more than $2.5 million, which may be used for undergraduate study at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

Sixty-two students from Florida earned the scholarships, and following are the Broward County students who earned $2,500 scholarships:

Alexis D. Wilson, College Academy at BCC; Rochelle D. Gordon, Coral Springs High; Dean M. Gardner, William T. McFatter Tech; Shasky L. Clarke, Pembroke Pines Charter High; Clayton D. Henry, Charles W. Flanagan High; Domonique L. Worship, Pembroke Pines Charter; Gerard A. Baldie, Nova High; Douglas H. Cunningham, Nova High; Jasmine A. Jeffers, South Plantation High; Krystal M. Granger, College Academy at BCC.

Cordero E. Bowleg from Boyd H. Anderson High was awarded the National Achievement Tenet Healthcare Foundation Scholarship.

Funding for the awards is provided by more than 50 corporate organizations and professional associations, and by the National Merit Corporation.

The National Achievement Program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented African American youth, and to provide scholarships to a substantial number of the most outstanding participants each year. This year’s program marks the 43rd competition in which more than 27,800 total recipients have earned scholarships worth approximately $88 million. The program is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.

This year’s scholarship recipients include 700 winners of National Achievement $2,500 Scholarships and 100 winners of corporate-sponsored Achievement Scholarship awards. More than 140,000 students entered the 2007 National Achievement Program by requesting consideration when they took the 2005 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as high school juniors.