Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Three Palm Beach Magnet Schools Win
National Merit Awards

From across the United States, 481 magnet schools vied for a merit award in the 2004 Magnet Schools of America (MSA) Merit Awards Competition. These awards recognize magnet schools that have met and maintained desegregation/diversity goals; have innovative instructional techniques; have improved and are maintaining high levels of student achievement; and have parent/community involvement in the school.

Suncoast High, Roosevelt Middle and Morikama Park Elementary, three magnet schools from the Palm Beach County School District, will be honored during the 22nd Annual Magnet Schools of America Conference in Raleigh, North Carolina, April 18-22. Over 1,000 conference attendees will include teachers and administrators from magnet schools across the nation. The ceremony will be hosted by Wake County (North Carolina) Public Schools.

Suncoast High School has been selected as one of 12 schools to receive the MSA School of Excellence Award. The 12 magnet schools from across the nation will be in competition for two cash prizes. The top two awards will be announced at the awards ceremony, including the $5,000 Ronald P. Simpson Magnet School of Merit and the $1,000 Hogan and Hartson Magnet School of Merit.

Roosevelt Middle School and Morikami Park Elementary School are among the 30 magnet schools that will be honored as MSA Schools of Distinction. This nationwide competition included 481 magnet schools from virtually every state in the United States.

Suncoast High opened its doors as a dedicated magnet school with four magnet programs in August 1989. Roosevelt Middle became a dedicated Math, Science, Technology magnet school in August 1995, when the district provided a new, larger facility. Morikami Park Elementary opened as a dedicated magnet school in August 1998, and subsequently became one of the first 10 elementary schools to be authorized as an International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program.

More information on Magnet Schools of America can be found at