Phi Theta Kappa

2014 Team

Each year, an All-Florida Academic Team is named to recognize the most outstanding students in the Florida College System based on academic achievement, leadership and service to the community.

Students are nominated by their respective colleges to the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by USA Today and Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society. This year, 109 students have been selected to the All-Florida Academic Team. View a list of the 2014 All-Florida Academic Team. (PDF, 448KB)

In addition, PTK distinguishes the top 30 students by selecting them to the All-Florida First Team based on rating in competition throughout the state. This year's All-Florida First and Second Teams have been announced in the April edition of the Florida College System Newsletter.

Event Information and Registration

The Florida College System, in conjunction with the PTK Florida Region, hosts an annual event to recognize the All-Florida Academic Team. Students are honored at an awards ceremony during which each student is presented with a medallion. The 2014 All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony will be held at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Florida, on April 24, 2014, from 4:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in Dolphin Hotel Ballroom B-D. Event registration will open at 3:00 p.m.

Thank you to the Florida Lottery for its generous contribution that will help make the 2014 awards ceremony a success.

Florida Lottery Logo

This year's awards program will coincide with the PTK national convention, NerdNation 2014. The opening ceremonies for NerdNation 2014 will take place immediately following the All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony at 7:30 p.m. in Pacific Hall of the Dolphin Hotel. PTK will reserve seating for those who indicate they will be attending through the registration below.

Registration for the 2014 All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony is available online through Thursday, April 10, 2014. Florida's recognition event is considered separate from the PTK national convention, so if you plan on attending the All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony, please RSVP by the deadline. Additional information relating to the PTK convention, including the Opening Ceremonies keynote speaker, Alison Levine, can be found on the PTK convention website. Information related to hotel accommodations is also available online, and current room rates will be valid through April 4, 2014.

Student Recognitions

In conjunction with PTK, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation annually sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team to recognize high achieving college students who demonstrate academic excellence combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom. This year, seven students from the Florida College System will be awarded scholarships from Coca-Cola:

Coca-Cola Gold Scholars Wendi Jennings, Florida Gateway College Donald Rimel, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota
Melisa Seda, Miami Dade College
Olivia Sims, Indian River State College

Coca-Cola Silver Scholars
Valerie Hurtado, Broward College

Coca-Cola Bronze Scholars
Olga Klippert Blue, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota
Dylan Wolfgram, South Florida State College

In addition, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation distinguishes one student from each state who possesses the highest application score in his or her class and awards them with a scholarship as a New Century Scholar. The 2014 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar representing Florida is Kayla Duchaine from Eastern Florida State College.

View the 2014 New Century Scholar's biography, the Coca-Cola Scholars, and the first and second teams (PDF, 105KB).

For more details regarding the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team and New Century Scholar Program, please visit the following links:


The All-USA Community College Academic Team, sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group and presented by USA TODAY, recognizes high achieving two-year college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.

Twenty team members are named annually with each receiving a scholarship. In addition, team members are featured in USA TODAY and recognized at the American Association of Community Colleges Annual Convention.

This year, two Florida students have been selected to the All-USA Community College Academic Team:

  • Kayla Duchaine, Eastern Florida State College
  • Christian Keen, Santa Fe College


The 2014 Chancellor's Student Service Awards

The Division of Florida Colleges (division), within the Florida Department of Education, is hosting a civic engagement video contest for Florida College System (FCS) students in order to recognize civic engagement initiatives. The division invites each Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) chapter in the FCS to create and submit a short video highlighting its involvement in the local community. These videos will be reviewed by division staff and then judged by Leon County 7th grade students as part of their studies on civic engagement. The division anticipates this contest will recognize and encourage civic involvement at the collegiate level, as well as complement the studies of middle school students by giving them a snapshot of exciting civic engagement activities taking place across the state.

PTK chapters will have until 4:00 PM EDT on April 4 to submit a video for the contest. Videos should be submitted online through the online video service called Stupeflix. This video can take as little as 15 minutes to make, so everyone should have the time to participate!

The top video will be awarded the Chancellor's Student Service Award and will be shown on April 24th at the 2014 All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony in Orlando. PTK Chapters who are recognized at the awards program will also receive a monetary award. Full contest rules (PDF, 193KB).

To participate in the contest, email Jennifer Harris at with the email address of the PTK Chapter President or designee, and he or she will receive a separate email to set up a Stupeflix account.

Like us on Facebook

Details concerning the All-Florida Academic Team and the recognition program can also be found on Facebook. Please visit and "like" The Florida College System homepage and join the "All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony" event page. This page will be updated periodically leading up to the event.

Dress Attire for Awards Ceremony

Business Casual


If you have any questions regarding the All-Florida Academic Team or related events, please contact Liam McClay at 850-245-9788.

Related Links