Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Press Release

Thursday, January 30, 2014

DOE Press Office

Two Florida Colleges Finalists for Awards of Excellence

Tallahassee, Fla., January 30, 2014 - The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) has announced its short list for the second annual Awards of Excellence. Miami Dade College and Tallahassee Community College joined 22 other colleges from across the nation as finalists.

"Colleges in the Florida College System continually seek out programs and strategies to improve student success and college performance," said Florida College System Chancellor Randy Hanna. "I congratulate Miami Dade College and Tallahassee Community College on this recognition and commend them for their outstanding work."

AACC recognized Miami Dade College in the student success category and Tallahassee Community College in the emerging leadership category. Four Florida colleges were recognized as finalists in the 2013 inaugural awards: Indian River State College, Miami Dade College, Seminole State College of Florida and St. Johns River State College. Miami Dade won in the advancing diversity category and St. Johns in the exemplary CEO/board category.

"These finalists are taking risks and forging the path to reimagining our institutions," said AACC President and CEO Walter G. Bumphus. "Through the Awards of Excellence, we're able to hold up their bold innovations as models that will benefit all community colleges."

AACC will announce the 2014 winner in each category on April 7 at its annual convention in Washington, D.C.

For more information, visit AACC Awards for Excellence.