Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Press Release

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

DOE Press Office

Four Florida Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Awards

Tallahassee, Fla., September 24, 2013 - The Blue Ribbon Schools program selected four Florida schools as 2013 national award winners. Leaders from each school will be presented an award signifying their Blue Ribbon status during a recognition program on November 18-19 in Washington, D.C.

To be eligible for the national award, schools must be ranked among the highest in their state or have demonstrated dramatic gains in overall student achievement. This year, 286 schools nationwide were selected to be honored during the annual award ceremony.

"Teachers, students and administrators at these four schools have worked diligently to earn this prestigious award," said Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart. "These schools are models for others to follow and great examples of how Florida schools continue thrive."

The program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools in one of two performance categories. Schools recognized in the "Exemplary High Performing" category must be among their state's highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests. The second category, "Exemplary Improving," recognizes schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds who demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels.

Congratulations to the following Florida schools selected in the "Exemplary High Performing" category.

  • Collegiate High School at Northwest Florida State College, Okaloosa County
  • Arthur I. Meyer Jewish Academy, Palm Beach County
  • The First Academy Middle School, Orange County
  • Hartridge Academy, Polk County

For more information about the recognition program, visit National Blue Ribbon Schools Program.