Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Georgi Pipkin
Mobile: 305-793-9626

Florida's 2014 Teacher of the Year to be Named Tonight

Tallahassee, Fla., July 11, 2013 - Governor Rick Scott will name the 2014 Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year tonight at a gala celebration in Orlando sponsored by Macy's. The event's emcee, Emmy Award-winning journalist and anchor Deborah Norville, will be joined by Commissioner of Education Dr. Tony Bennett, Macy's President and Regional Director of Stores Mike Krauter, and Florida's District Teachers of the Year. Media interested in attending should contact Georgi Pipkin with Macy's for assistance.

The five finalists for the 2014 Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year are below.

  • Nancy Smith, English, Advanced Placement and Reading teacher, Citrus County High School, Citrus County
  • Apryl Shackelford, Intensive Reading teacher, Northwestern Middle School, Duval County
  • Patricia Gair, Performing Arts/Dance teacher, Cypress Lake High School Center for the Performing Arts, Lee County
  • Dorina Sackman, ESOL (English For Speakers of Other Languages) teacher, Westridge Middle School, Orange County
  • Katrin Rudge, Marine Science and Dual Enrollment Marine Biology teacher, Riverview High School, Sarasota County

What: Teacher of the Year Gala

When: Thursday, July 11, 2013
6:30 p.m. Eastern Time

Where: Hard Rock Live
Universal Studios at CityWalk

The event can be viewed via live video streaming.

Live Internet Stream Link:

If you encounter any technical issues please contact Jorge Rodriguez at 305-986-2329 or Ivonne Amor at 305-299-2091 or via e-mail at .

Live Stream begins July 11 at 6:25 p.m. EDT to end of Awards Ceremony between approximately 8:30-9:00 p.m.

  • 6:25 p.m. - Live Stream Opens
  • 6:30 p.m. - Awards Ceremony Begins