Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Press Release

Tuesday, February 27, 2013

DOE Press Office

Sunshine State Scholars Program Recognizes Central Florida's Top STEM Students

- Program honors Florida students who excel in science, technology, engineering, and math -

Tallahassee, Fla., February 26, 2013 - Central Florida's highest-achieving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) students joined their peers from across the state in Orlando to be honored during the 2013 Sunshine State Scholars program. The two-day awards and recruitment event celebrated the accomplishments of these elite students and provided a unique venue for Florida's colleges and universities to recruit their talents. Each school district selected the top eleventh-grade STEM scholar to participate.

The Sunshine State Scholars program is possible because of collaboration among the Florida Education Foundation, the Division of Florida Colleges, the State University System of Florida, and the Florida Department of Education. Event sponsors of this year's program include AT&T, State Farm, Helios Education Foundation, Universal Orlando Resort, Gulf Power Company, The Florida Lottery, Florida Trend Magazine, and Capital City Bank. For more information about the event, visit Sunshine State Scholars.

A list of Central Florida's 2013 Sunshine State Scholars is below.

District Scholar School
Brevard Ian Chan West Shore Jr./Sr. High School
Indian River Samuel Guy Vero Beach High School
Lake Jennell Thornton East Ridge High School
Martin Alexandra Sclafani Martin County High School
Okeechobee Brandon McKee Okeechobee High School
Orange Bryan Peacker Cypress Creek High School
Orange Greg Fussell Apopka High School
Osceola Roberto Cruz Osceola High School
Seminole Saurabh Sudesh Seminole High School
St. Lucie William Barr Treasure Coast High School