Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Press Release

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

DOE Press Office

Sunshine State Scholars Program Recognizes Florida Panhandle's Top Stem Students

- Program honors Florida students who excel in science, technology, engineering, and math -

Tallahassee, Fla., February 27, 2013 - Florida Panhandle's highest-achieving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) students joined their peers from across the state in Orlando to be honored during the 2013 Sunshine State Scholars program. The two-day awards and recruitment event celebrated the accomplishments of these elite students and provided a unique venue for Florida's colleges and universities to recruit their talents. Each school district selected the top eleventh-grade STEM scholar to participate.

The Sunshine State Scholars program is possible because of collaboration among the Florida Education Foundation, the Division of Florida Colleges, the State University System of Florida, and the Florida Department of Education. Event sponsors of this year's program include AT&T, State Farm, Helios Education Foundation, Universal Orlando Resort, Gulf Power Company, The Florida Lottery, Florida Trend Magazine, and Capital City Bank. For more information about the event, visit Sunshine State Scholars.

A list of the Sunshine State Scholars from Florida's Panhandle is below.

District Scholar School
Bay George Hamm Bay High School
Calhoun Blayne Cherry Blountstown High School
Escambia Robert Tran Pensacola High School
FAMU Lab School Cherrise Leon FAMU Lab School
Franklin Jathan Martin Franklin County K-12 School
FSU Lab School Alaina Branch FSU Lab School
Gadsden Meaghan Sapp East Gadsden High School
Gulf Seth Goodwin Wewahitchka High School
Holmes Patricia Lewis Bethlehem High School
Jackson Mariya Yaroshenko Marianna High School
Jefferson Coby Brown Jefferson Middle/High School
Leon Joanna Zhao Lincoln High School
Liberty Ashlei Yates Liberty County High School
Madison Alexandra Patron Madison County High School
Okaloosa Ciara Ordner Niceville High School
Santa Rosa Kandace Jernigan Milton High School
Taylor John Hilton Taylor County High School
Wakulla Emily Westmark Wakulla High School
Walton Luke Bauer South Walton High School
Washington Richard Davenport Chipley High School