Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

DOE Press Office

Conference to Honor State's Top STEM Students in Orlando

Tallahassee, Fla., February 20, 2013 - Florida's highest-achieving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) students will join their peers from around the state Thursday and Friday in Orlando to be honored during the 2013 Sunshine State Scholars program. The two-day awards and recruitment event celebrates the accomplishments of these elite students and provides a unique venue for Florida's colleges and universities to recruit their talents. Each school district selects the top eleventh-grade STEM scholar to participate.

The Sunshine State Scholars program is a collaboration between the Florida Education Foundation, the Division of Florida Colleges, the State University System of Florida, and the Florida Department of Education. Event sponsors of this year's program include AT&T, State Farm, Helios Education Foundation, Universal Orlando Resort, Gulf Power Company, The Florida Lottery, Florida Trend Magazine, and Capital City Bank. For more information about the event, visit Sunshine State Scholars.

What: Sunshine State Scholars Program

Where: Doubletree Hotel at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
5780 Major Blvd.

What: Welcome Reception

When: Thursday, February 21, 2013
6:00 p.m.
Dr. Tony Bennett, Florida Commissioner of Education
Kasongo Butler, Assistant Chancellor, Florida College System
Stacy Carlson, Vice President and Program Director, Helios Education Foundation

What: Morning General Session

When: Friday, February 22, 2013
8:00 a.m.
Jennifer Grove, Workforce Development Coordinator, Gulf Power
Kathleen Shanahan, State Board of Education member
Chancellor Frank Brogan, State University System of Florida

Concurrent Exhibits, Recruitment Fair, and Workshops
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Educator Professional Development focused on STEM and Common Core
9:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.

Parent and Scholar Workshops
9:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

What: Awards Luncheon

When: 12:00 p.m.
Marshall Criser, III, President of AT&T
Jim Thompson, President, State Farm of Florida
Florida Senator David Simmons
Adam Dalton, Research Associate, Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition