Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Friday, February 8, 2013

DOE Press Office

Department of Education to Host Summit for Principals

Tallahassee, Fla., February 8, 2013 - Commissioner of Education Dr. Tony Bennett will convene the 8th annual Commissioner's Summit for Principals on Monday in Lake Buena Vista. Highlights of the event include the keynote address by Dr. James Peterson and conferring the Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership and Outstanding Assistant Principal Achievement Award.

Interested media should contact the Department of Education's press office prior to Monday.

What: 8th Annual Commissioner's Summit for Principals

When: Monday, February 11, 2013
8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Where: Epcot® at the Living Seas
1200 Epcot Resorts Blvd.
Lake Buena Vista

Media should meet at the Disney Boardwalk Resort
2101 Epcot Resorts Blvd.
Lake Buena Vista

What: Commissioner Bennett's Opening Remarks

When: 8:30 a.m.

What: Keynote Address: Cultural Competence in Educational Reform
Dr. James Peterson, Director of Africana Studies and Associate Professor of English, Lehigh University

When: 9:00 a.m.

What: Roundtable Discussion on Education Issues

When: 10:45 a.m.

What: Awards Luncheon
Keynote Address by Alex Lopes, 2013 Florida Teacher of the Year

When: 12:00 p.m.

This year's finalists include

Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership

  • Sandy Moore, Escambia County
  • Jayne Ellspermann, Marion County
  • Pablo Ortiz, Miami-Dade County

Outstanding Assistant Principal Achievement Award

  • Michelle Rovira Daly, Clay County
  • William McAteer, Marion County
  • Denise B. Johnson, Miami-Dade County