Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Thursday, July 12, 2012

DOE Press Office
(850) 245-0413

Florida's 2013 Teacher of the Year to be Named Tonight

Tallahassee, Fla., July 12, 2012 - The 2013 Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year will be named tonight at a gala celebration in Orlando sponsored by Macy's. Commissioner of Education Gerard Robinson will be on hand to make the announcement along with Macy's President of Stores, Mike Krauter. Deborah Norville, Emmy Award-winning journalist and anchor of "Inside Edition," will serve as master of ceremonies. The event will be available for viewing via live video streaming.

The five finalists for the 2013 Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year are listed below.

  • Nanci Brilliant, Grades 9-12 Intensive Reading and College Readiness teacher, St. Cloud High School, Osceola County
  • Megan Crombie, Grades 4 and 5 combination class teacher, Riversink Elementary School, Wakulla County
  • Alexandre Lopes, Pre-K, Special Education teacher, Carol City Elementary School, Miami-Dade County
  • Jeffrey Pribble, Grades 9-12 English and Technology Education teacher, Escambia High School, Escambia County
  • Dawn Voyer, Grades 6-8 Social Studies teacher, Cypress Lake Middle School, Lee County

What: Teacher of the Year Gala

When: 6:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time

Where: Hard Rock Live
Universal Studios at CityWalk
Orlando, Fla.

Live Internet Stream Link