Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Press Release

Friday, April 13, 2012

DOE Press Office
(850) 245-0413

Taskforce on Digital Learning Set to Examine Florida's Path Forward

- Group of state educators, parents, business and community leaders will work with national and international policy experts to help shape education's digital future -

Tallahassee - Florida Department of Education Commissioner Gerard Robinson today announced the members of the Florida 2.0 Digital Learning Group, a new taskforce that will focus on digital learning in Florida. Following a series of presentations at the State Board of Education meeting on March 27 in Miami, the board voted to set up a taskforce to develop a comprehensive plan to make certain that the state has the infrastructure, instructors and institutional reforms in place by the 2014-15 school year to ensure that Florida remains a national leader in digital learning.

"Technology has changed the world we live in, the way we get our information, and the way we learn," said Education Commissioner Gerard Robinson. "Many of today's top careers did not even exist 10 years ago. Digital learning plays an important role in education in our state and it will become even more critical as we prepare students for college and challenging new 21st century careers."

State Board of Education Chair Kathleen Shanahan stated, "The State Board urges the taskforce volunteers to think big and broad in the compressed timeline as we seek to move Florida forward on digital education. We look forward to hearing clear, directional recommendations at our May meeting."

The Florida 2.0 Digital Learning Group includes 30 members, each of whom is assigned to one of three subcommittees: Infrastructure, Quality Instruction, and Institutional Reform. Similar to the approach used successfully with the Commissioner's Taskforce on Inclusion and Accountability, each subcommittee will focus on a specific assignment and the entire group will convene to discuss all recommendations.

The digital learning group includes educators, parents, organization and business leaders, and legislative representatives from across the state.

Florida 2.0 Digital Learning Group

Name Affiliation Location Subcommittee
Shirley Baker Principal Bay Infrastructure
Pam Benton Teacher Pinellas Quality Instruction
Jennifer Chapman Business Duval Infrastructure
Marti Coley Legislative Multiple Quality Instruction
Connie Collins Principal Seminole Institutional Reform
Jimmie Davis Organization Leon Institutional Reform
Erik Fresen Legislative Dade Institutional Reform
Frank Fuller Legislative Leon Institutional Reform
Sharyn Gabriel Principal Orange Quality Instruction
Luis Garcia University Orange Quality Instruction
Richard Hartshorne University Orange Quality Instruction
Angela Holbrook Teacher Dade Infrastructure
Lisa Jones Organization Clay Quality Instruction
Nancy Kelley Organization Leon Quality Instruction
Kim Kendall Parent St. Johns Infrastructure
Steve Knopik Business Manatee Institutional Reform
Michael Lannon Superintendent St. Lucie Quality Instruction
Bill Law State College Pinellas Institutional Reform
Michelle Licata Teacher FLVS Institutional Reform
Jorge Martinez Organization Dade Infrastructure
Lowell Matthews Organization Leon Institutional Reform
Jim Miller Business Lake Quality Instruction
Joe Pickens State College St. Johns Infrastructure
Jeremy Ring Legislative Broward Institutional Reform
Katrina Rolle Parent Leon Institutional Reform
Robert Runcie Superintendent Broward Institutional Reform
Cynthia Stafford Legislative Dade Infrastructure
Kelli Stargel Legislative Polk Infrastructure
Tom Townsend Superintendent Putnam Infrastructure
Steven Wallace State College Duval Quality Instruction

Commissioner Robinson also named the members of a Policy Advisory Group, comprised of national and international experts in digital learning, who will serve as a resource for content, policy and technical aspects as the Digital Learning Group develops their recommendations.

Members of the Policy Advisory Group include

  • Peje Emilsson, Founder and Chairman of Kunskapsskolan Education Sweden
  • Mario Franco, President of Mobile Communications Foundation - Portugal
  • Michael Horn, Executive Director of Education of the Innosight Institute and coauthor of Disrupting Class
  • Doug Levin, Executive Director of the State Educational Technology Directors Association
  • Susan Patrick, President and CEO of the International Association for K-12 Online Learning
  • Tom Vander Ark, Author of Getting Smart and CEO of Open Ed Solutions
  • John Watson, Founder of Evergreen Education Group, which produces Keeping Pace with K12 Online Learning

Subcommittee members will meet via webinar between April 18 and 20. The group will meet in person April 24 and 25 at the Collaborative Labs of St. Petersburg College. The intent is to present a plan to the State Board of Education at their May 10 meeting.