Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

DOE Press Office
(850) 245-0413

Southwest Florida's Top Stem Scholars to be Honored in Orlando

Southwest Florida's highest achieving science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) students will join their peers from around the state Thursday and Friday in Orlando to be honored during the 2012 Sunshine State Scholars program. The two-day awards and recruitment event celebrates the accomplishments of these elite students and provides a unique opportunity for Florida's colleges and universities to recruit their talents.

The Scholars event started as a simple science and math competition in 1997 and has evolved into a program designed to recognize Florida's top high school STEM students and recruit them to pursue their post secondary education in Florida - increasing the likelihood that they will join Florida's future workforce. Each school district selects and names one 11th grade scholar based on established criteria.

The program will begin on Thursday evening with a welcome reception and continues on Friday with a breakfast, recruitment fair and workshops where students can talk with officials representing more than 40 public and private higher education institutions about the opportunities that are available at Florida's colleges and universities. The event concludes with an award luncheon.

The event will take place at

Doubletree Hotel at Entrance to Universal Orlando
5780 Major Blvd.

Thursday, Feb. 16
Welcome Reception

6:00 p.m.
Gerard Robinson, Florida Education Commissioner
Frank Brogan, Chancellor, State University System of Florida
Stacy Carlson, Vice President and Director, Helios Education Foundation

Friday, Feb. 17
8:00 a.m.

Jennifer Grove, Workforce Development Coordinator, Gulf Power
Dr. Jimmie L. Davis, Jr., President, STEMflorida

Recruitment Fair, Concurrent Exhibits and Workshops
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Awards Luncheon
12:00 p.m.

Roberto Martinez, Vice Chair, Florida State Board of Education
Pam Stewart, Chancellor, K-12 Public Schools
Rosemary Woods, Vice President of Transportation, Atkins
Stephen K. Klasko, M.D., CEO, USF Health, and Dean, Morsani College of Medicine

The Sunshine State Scholars program is a collaborative effort between the Florida Education Foundation, the Division of Florida Colleges, the State University System and the Florida Department of Education. Event sponsors of this year's program include the Helios Education Foundation, Atkins, Universal Orlando Resort, Gulf Power, Florida Trend Magazine, and the Florida Lottery.

A list of the Sunshine State Scholars from Southwest Florida is below.

Southwest Florida
District Student School
Charlotte Kade Cicchella Lemon Bay High School
Citrus Harrison King Lecanto High School
Collier Alexander Robau Lely High School
DeSoto Jacob Dewey DeSoto High School
Glades Maria Toledo Moore Haven Jr./Sr. High School
Hardee Alex Pierstorff Hardee Senior High School
Hendry Derek Bass LaBelle High School
Hernando Stephanie Wert Central High School
Highlands Kevin Colley Lake Placid High School
Hillsborough Ian Ludden Bloomingdale High School
Hillsborough Jacob Bernier Durant High School
Lee Michael D'Angelo Fort Myers High School
Lee Cory French Fort Myers High School
Manatee Mackenzie Yaryura South East High School
Pasco Nikita Shah Wiregrass Ranch High School
Pinellas Joseph Sinibaldi Seminole High School
Pinellas Jessee Faylo East Lake High School
Polk Dominic Chiampi Bartow International Baccalaureate
Polk Aubrey Presnell George Jenkins High School
Sarasota Robert Ranier Venice High School
Sumter Angela Danielle Cole Wildwood Middle High School

For more information about the Sunshine State Scholars program, visit