Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

DOE Press Office
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner to Announce District Data Leader of the Year Winner

Florida Education Commissioner Gerard Robinson will announce the winner of the second annual Florida District Data Leader of the Year Award tomorrow in Tallahassee. The award was created by the Florida Department of Education last year to highlight the critical role understanding and using data can play in continuous school improvement. The winner will be selected from among five finalists who have demonstrated a significant commitment to this philosophy.

The finalists for the award are MaryEllen Elia, Hillsborough County; Alberto Carvalho, Miami-Dade County; Joseph Joyner, St. Johns County; Michael Lannon, St. Lucie County; and Alexis Tibbetts, Okaloosa County.

The announcement will take place:

11:00 a.m.
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Hotel Duval
Horizon Ballroom
415 N. Monroe Street