Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Monday, October 18, 2010

DOE Press Office
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner to Announce District Data leader of the Year Winner

Florida Education Commissioner Dr. Eric J. Smith will announce the winner of the first-ever Florida District Data Leader of the Year Award tomorrow in Tallahassee. The award was created by the Florida Department of Education this year to highlight the critical role understanding and using data can play in continuous school improvement. The winner will be selected from among five finalists who have demonstrated a significant commitment to this philosophy.

The finalists for the award are Bill Husfelt, Bay County; Tom Townsend, Putnam County; Michael Lannon, St. Lucie County; MaryEllen Elia, Hillsborough County; and Alberto Carvalho, Miami-Dade County.

The announcement will take place:

11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, October 19, 2010
Hotel Duval
Horizon Ballroom
415 N. Monroe Street