Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Press Release

Thursday, June 23, 2009

Daisy Cabrera
(305) 577-6791

Dori Robau
(305) 577-1973

And the Winner Is? Macy’s Prestigious Top Teacher of the Year Announcement Just Around the Corner!
~ One Of Five Finalists Will Be Named The 2010 Macy’s/Florida Department Of Education Teacher Of The Year During July 9 Award Gala ~

MIAMI – July 9, 2009 – And the winner is? One of five finalists for Florida’s top teacher will soon be named the 2010 Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year. This year’s winning teacher will be announced in front of an audience of their peers, family members and friends at the Hard Rock Live at Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida, on Thursday, July 9 at 6:30 p.m.

“Florida’s public school teachers are among our brightest stars, and as we’ve done for the past 21 years – we applaud their commitment to students and our communities during this spectacular gala ceremony,” said Macy’s Senior Vice President, Regional Director of Stores Karin Darmanin.

Will this year’s Teacher of the Year be: Reading, Language Arts, and Social Studies 2nd Grade teacher Patricia Fairclough of Air Base Elementary School in Miami-Dade County; General Education 4th Grade teacher Megan Marie Allen of Cleveland Elementary School in Hillsborough County; American History 11th Grade teacher Emily Barbacci of Lawton Chiles High School in Leon County; Language Arts 12th Grade teacher Melissa Reiker of Apopka High School in Orange County or Science-Chemistry 10th-12th Grade teacher Marilynn Pedek of Suncoast Community High School in Palm Beach County? In May, the five finalists were chosen from 72 school district nominees.

"Each of this year's finalists has served their students, schools and communities in such innovative ways, and our education system is enriched by the leadership they exhibit both in and out of the classroom," says Florida Commissioner of Education Dr. Eric J. Smith. “The support and guidance our students receive from teachers is a truly remarkable gift for our great state.”

The 2010 Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year Awards Gala will be hosted by Emmy Award-winning journalist and anchor, Deborah Norville and is scheduled to begin at 6:30 p.m. Florida Commissioner of Education Dr. Eric J. Smith and Macy’s Senior Vice President, Regional Director of Stores Karin Darmanin will open the sealed envelope to reveal the name of this year’s top educator in Florida – an announcement that could mark the pinnacle of any of these accomplished teachers’ careers.

The Teacher of the Year will receive awards from Macy’s including a check totaling $10,000, a $1,000 wardrobe, and an all-expense paid trip for four to New York City to attend the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade this year. The winner serves for one year as the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education. In this capacity, he or she acts as a representative and spokesperson for the teaching profession and travels throughout the state of Florida and the nation.

The five finalists started the selection process last year competing among more than 180,000 inspirational Florida public school teachers. In early May, the five finalists were chosen from 72 school district nominees. Macy’s presented each of the five finalists with a $5,000 cash check, a Macy’s $500 gift card and a $1,000 grant for their respective schools.

During the event, the remaining 67 nominees from around the state will be recognized for their achievements and excellence in teaching. Macy’s will present each of the nominees with a $750 personal cash award and a $250 grant for their school.

For the 21st year in a row, Macy’s has sponsored and produced this prominent awards ceremony created to congratulate the hard efforts of the states’ public school educators. This year, the company will contribute more than $100,000 in cash to the state-run Teacher of the Year program. To date, Macy’s has contributed more than $2 million to teachers throughout the state.

Macy’s will make available to all media a live satellite feed of the 2010 Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year awards gala.

About Florida Department of Education

The Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year is chosen from more than 180,000 public school teachers by a selection committee comprised of teachers, principals, parents, and the business community. Florida's top educator is selected on the basis of their outstanding ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching, and exceptional school and community service. The winner must also show a superior capacity to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.

About Macy’s

Macy's, the largest retail brand of Macy's, Inc., delivers fashion and affordable luxury to customers at more than 800 locations in 45 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam. Macy's stores and offer distinctive assortments including the most desired family of exclusive and fashion brands for him, her and home. Macy's is known for such epic events as Macy's 4th of July Fireworks® and the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade®, as well as spectacular fashion shows, culinary events, flower shows and celebrity appearances. Building on a 150-year tradition, Macy's helps strengthen communities by supporting local and national charities that make a difference in the lives of our customers.

For Macy’s media materials, images and contacts, please visit our online pressroom at For Florida specific media materials, please visit the Macy’s Florida section.