Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

Media Advisory

Thursday, July 10, 2008

Tom Butler
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Smith to Attend Teacher of the Year Awards Ceremony

Education Commissioner Eric J. Smith tonight will announce the Florida Department of Education/Macy’s 2009 Teacher of the Year.

The five finalists for the award are:

  • Jennifer Bohn, Evans High School, Orange County
  • Kevin Holland, Pace High School, Santa Rosa County
  • Jean Lamar, Callahan Middle School, Nassau County
  • Danny Whittenton, Kathleen High School, Polk County
  • Jeanne Wright, Cypress Creek Elementary School, Volusia County

The Florida Department of Education/Macy’s 2009 Teacher of the Year Gala will be held:

Thursday, July 10, 2008
6:30 p.m.
Hard Rock Live! at Universal Studios CityWalk

For more information about the Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year award, visit