Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


May 25, 2007

Tom Butler
(850) 245-0413

Commissioner Blomberg Recognizes Florida's 2007 Presidential Scholars

TALLAHASSEE – Commissioner of Education Jeanine Blomberg today recognized Florida’s 2007 Presidential Scholars. These students have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship, service, and contribution to school and community. They will be honored for their accomplishments in Washington D.C., from June 23-27.

“Presidential Scholars represent the best of the best in the nation, and we are thrilled that five of them are Floridians,” said Commissioner Blomberg. "These students’ outstanding academic achievement and solid character will ensure their success in the years to come, not only for themselves, but for the nation.”

Florida’s 2007 Presidential Scholars:

  • *Rebecca Mock– Dreyfoos School of the Arts, West Palm Beach
  • *Milton Perez – New World School of the Arts, Miami
  • Bret A. Voith – Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami
  • Charles M. Zhu – C. Leon King High School, Tampa
  • Helen M. Johnson – Saint Mary's School, Tampa

The nation’s 141 Presidential Scholars include one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large and 20 Presidential Scholars in the Arts. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, appointed by the President, selected the scholars based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Scholars are invited to attend an awards program in Washington, D.C., in June to receive the Presidential Scholars medallion at a recognition ceremony and to participate in various activities and events held in their honor. Each Presidential Scholar is asked to identify a teacher who has most influenced him or her, and the selected educators are also invited to attend the recognition events.

For the past 43 years, this prestigious program has honored more than 5,000 of the nation's top-performing students. Of the three million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 2,700 candidates qualified on the basis of outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, or by nomination through the nationwide Young Arts talent search conducted by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts.

*indicates a scholar for Presidential Scholar in the Arts.