Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


April 17, 2007

Jennifer Fennell
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Blomberg and State Board Chairman Fair Announce SCHOOL-related Employee of the Year

TALLAHASSEE – Education Commissioner Jeanine Blomberg and State Board of Education Chairman T. Willard Fair today announced Rebecca Travers as the 2007 Florida School-Related Employee of the Year. Ms. Travers is the Bookkeeper at Woodlawn Elementary School in Highlands County.

“On behalf of the State Board of Education, I am thrilled to recognize Ms. Travers as the 2007 Florida School-Related Employee of the Year Award recipient,” said Chairman Fair. “We recognize and admire the work of outstanding school-related employees, such as Ms. Travers, for their commitment to education and a promising future for the students of Florida.”

The announcement was made during the State Board of Education meeting in Tallahassee. The Florida School-Related Employee of the Year receives an award check of $1,000 from the Department of Education. Each finalist receives an award check of $500 and each district nominee receives an award check of $200.

“Ms. Travers has proven that she is a valuable member of Woodlawn Elementary School, the Highlands County School District and the entire education system in the state of Florida,” said Commissioner Blomberg. “Words could never adequately express our gratitude or the positive impact she has had on our students and fellow education professionals."

The School-Related Employee of the Year Program recognizes outstanding education support personnel for the significant contributions they make to their schools and district school systems. The selection is based on an application demonstrating the nominee’s efforts to go beyond the basic requirements of their duties and contribute to the academic success of students, schools and the district. The program honors one state award winner and four finalists. Finalists were selected from a total of 63 nominees.

The four finalists for the award are:

  • Elizabeth Gioffre, a School Secretary at Highlands Elementary School, Indian River County
  • Debbie Krouse, a Technical Support Specialist at Lee County Technical Center Central, Lee County
  • Bobbie Nedoroscik, a Bookkeeper at Oak Hill Elementary School, Okaloosa County
  • Timothy Fitzpatrick, a Food Services Manager at Palm Harbor Elementary School, Pinellas County

For more information about the Florida School-Related Employee of the Year award visit