Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


May 30, 2006

Cathy Schroeder
(850) 245-0413

Commissioner Winn Announces the Florida 2006 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year

TALLAHASSEE — Education Commissioner John L. Winn today announced that Nicole Marsala, an eighth grade American history teacher at Coral Springs Middle School in Broward County, is the state 2006 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year. Sponsored by the Gilder Lehman Institute for American History, the award was established to honor outstanding teachers of American history across the country. The Gilder Lehman Institute of American History, founded in 1994, promotes the study and love of American history by recognizing outstanding teachers.

Marsala will now compete with other state winners for the national award. The national award winner will be selected in the fall by a panel of distinguished history educators and prominent historians. Each state winner will receive a $1,000 cash award and a "History Teacher of the Year" plaque and his or her school will receive an archive of primary historical materials for use in the school library or media center.

For more information about the 2006 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year award please visit