Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


April 5, 2006

Cathy Schroeder
(850) 245-0413

Chancellor Armstrong Recognizes Truman Scholarship Recipient

TALLAHASSEE — Community College and Workforce Education Chancellor David Armstrong today congratulated Bruce Haupt, a history and political science major at the University of Florida (UF) for receiving the prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship. A former student of Brevard Community College, Haupt is pursuing a career in higher education leadership, specifically within the community college system.

"I am extremely excited about Bruce''s award," said Chancellor Armstrong. "His honor demonstrates the quality of Florida''s community colleges and the preparation he received at Brevard Community College. I am especially thrilled that he has aimed his career at shaping policy for the community college system."

In addition to a rigorous and challenging interview process, Truman Scholars are selected based on their extensive records of campus and community service; their commitment to careers in government, advocacy or nonprofit sectors; their excellent communication skills and a high probability of becoming a "change agent;" and a strong academic record with likely acceptance by a first-rate graduate school. In 2006, 75 students from 63 colleges and universities, from a pool of 598 candidates nominated by 311 institutions, were selected as Truman Scholars nationwide.

Other Florida students receiving the Truman Scholarship are Ashley Bittner, a history and political science major at the University of Florida, and Gregory Nolan, a political science and philosophy major at Stetson University.

For more information about the Harry S. Truman Scholarship visit