Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


February 9, 2006

Jennifer Fennell or
Cathy Schroeder
(850) 245-0413

Department of Education to Hold Media Briefing Regarding "Effectiveness Compensation" Plan

The Department of Education will hold a media briefing tomorrow by conference call to unveil Florida's "E-Comp" or "Effectiveness Compensation" plan, which rewards high-performing teachers. Participating in the call will be:

  • Florida Education Commissioner John Winn
  • K-12 Public Schools Chancellor Cheri Pierson Yecke
  • Thomas B. Fordham Foundation President Chester E. Finn, Jr.
  • Hoover Institution, Stanford University, Paul and Jean Hanna Senior Fellow Eric Hanushek
  • 2006 Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year Sam Bennett
  • Lake County's Cecil E. Gray Middle School Assistant Principal Maralena Coggins
  • Florida Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Executive Director Dr. Robert Shockley

The conference call will be held:
Friday, February 10, 2006
11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. (EST)
The call-in number is:
(850) 922-2903