Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


October 3, 2005

Bill Edmonds
Director of Communications
(850) 245-0466

Chancellor Search Committee's October 4 meeting canceled

TALLAHASSEE — The October 4 meeting of the Chancellor Search Committee of the Florida Board of Governors has been canceled.

The next meeting of the search committee will be a conference call at 3 p.m. EDT October 20. The dial-in number is (850) 410-0961.

Please do not use a cell phone — land lines only. Please place your phone on mute.

The Chancellor Search Committee's assignment is to recommend a candidate to replace former Chancellor Debra Austin, who is now provost and vice president of academic affairs at Florida A&M University.

The committee members are:

  • Peter S. Rummell of Jacksonville, chairman.
  • John Dasburg of Miami. Dasburg is vice chair of the Board of Governors.
  • Sheila M. McDevitt of Tampa.
  • Ava L. Parker of Jacksonville.
  • Dr. Martha Peláez of Miami. Dr. Peláez, a professor at Florida International University, is the faculty representative on the Board of Governors.
  • Carolyn K. Roberts of Ocala, who is chair of the Florida Board of Governors.
  • Dr. Zachariah P. Zachariah of Fort Lauderdale.

The committee chair has requested that all media inquiries go through Bill Edmonds of the board staff at (850) 245-0466 or via e-mail at

The Florida Board of Governors is the constitutional body created by voters in 2002 to oversee Florida's public universities.