Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


August 30, 2005

Jennifer Fennell or
Cheryl Etters
(850) 245-0413

Education Deputy Chancellor to Present School Recognition Checks
Schools recognized for outstanding student performance

The Department of Education's K-12 Deputy Chancellor for Student Achievement Mary Jane Tappen will tomorrow visit two schools to present school recognition checks. Chattahoochee Elementary School in Gadsden County will receive $24,509 and Niblack Elementary School in Columbia County will receive $26,150.

The visits will take place at:

9:30 a.m.
Chattahoochee Elementary School
335 Maple Street

1:00 p.m.
Niblack Elementary School
1500 North Broadway Street
Lake City

The A+ School Recognition Program acknowledges schools that are achieving and showing improvement. All of Florida's public schools received report cards with grades on an "A" through "F" scale. The program recognizes schools that have improved at least one letter grade or received an "A" for the 2004-05 school year. Schools that improve at least one grade or receive an "A" based primarily on student achievement are being rewarded with $100 per student.