Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


August 24, 2005

Bill Edmonds
Director of Communications
(850) 245-0466

Board of Governors chair names search committee for new chancellor of State University System of Florida

TALLAHASSEE — Board of Governors Chair Carolyn K. Roberts today established a committee of seven Board of Governors members to conduct a search for the next chancellor of the State University System of Florida.

The members of the Chancellor Search Committee are:

  • Peter S. Rummell of Jacksonville, who will serve as chair.
  • Sheila M. McDevitt of Tampa.
  • Dr. Zachariah P. Zachariah of Fort Lauderdale.
  • Ava L. Parker of Jacksonville.
  • John Dasburg of Miami. Dasburg is vice chair of the Board of Governors.
  • Dr. Martha Peláez of Miami. Dr. Peláez, a professor at Florida International University, is the faculty representative on the Board of Governors.
  • Carolyn K. Roberts of Ocala.

Roberts directed the committee to create a timeline for the search, set qualifications for the position, establish criteria for review of candidates and offer a recommendation to the Board of Governors.

Rummell said the Chancellor Search Committee would meet via telephone conference call at 2 p.m. EDT Thursday, August 25, to discuss the search process.

He also scheduled other times for the committee to meet via conference call, as needed:

  • September 1, 3 p.m. EDT.
  • September 6, 2 p.m. EDT.
  • September 14, 2 p.m. EDT.
  • September 21, 1 p.m. EDT.
  • September 27, 2 p.m. EDT.

Dial-in numbers for the conference calls will be released later.

Rummell requested that all media inquiries go through Bill Edmonds of the board staff at (850) 245-0466 or via e-mail at

The Chancellor Search Committee will recommend a candidate to replace Chancellor Debra Austin, who is leaving the chancellor's post to become provost and vice president of academic affairs at Florida A&M University.

The Florida Board of Governors is the constitutional body created by voters in 2002 to oversee Florida's public universities.