Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


June 30, 2004

Frances Marine or
MacKay Jimeson
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Horne Congratulates Recipients of the 2004 Principal Achievement Award
Award recognizes outstanding principals for contributions to their schools and communities

MARCO ISLAND — Education Commissioner Jim Horne today congratulated the recipients of the 2004 Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership in Marco Island. Sponsored by the Florida Association of School Administrators and presented at their annual conference by K12 Public Schools Chancellor Jim Warford, the award recognizes principals for their outstanding contributions to their schools and communities.

"These principals have shown incredible dedication to promoting student achievement and building family and community partnerships," Commissioner Horne said. "Student success and high performing schools are not possible without visionary leadership and commitment. I applaud their efforts to provide learning environments that ensure quality education for all students."

This award was established in 1988 to honor three principals from elementary, middle and high school who have spearheaded initiatives to increase student performance, promote safe learning environments and establish partnerships with parents and community members. The recipients have shown incredible leadership and exceptional abilities to promote excellence in education among students, faculty, staff and community members.

Finalists and winners are as follows:

Sandra Brown, State Winner
Cambridge Elementary School
Brevard County

Freddie Mae Robinson, State Winner
Clearwater Intermediate School
Pinellas County

Thomas Sawyer, State Winner
Eau Gallie High School
Brevard County

Patricia Penn-Dixon, Finalist
Dillard Elementary School
Broward County

Carolyn Davis, Finalist
Annie Morgan Elementary School
Duval County

Susan Daniels, Finalist
Ponce de Leon Elementary School

Jo Ann Daniels, Finalist
Wakulla Middle School
Wakulla County

Rose Martin, Finalist
D.A. Dorsey Educational Center
Miami-Dade County

Vertis Lane, Finalist
Glenridge Middle School
Orange County

Jill Budd, Finalist
Fletcher Middle School
Duval County

For more information on the award, please visit