Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


May 27, 2004

Frances Marine or
MacKay Jimeson
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Horne Announces Florida Education Foundation Board of Directors
Foundation will build partnerships benefiting pre-K through 12 education

FT. LAUDERDALE — Education Commissioner Jim Horne today announced a new board of directors for the Florida Education Foundation, a direct support organization established for the benefit of pre-kindergarten through 12th grade education. The foundation, whose board includes business and community leaders from across the state, will build partnerships and strengthen strategic alliances to benefit Florida's students.

"Education is the number one priority in Florida, and we are going to continue to find new ways to strengthen the system and provide children with the resources they need to learn," Commissioner Horne said. "This Foundation will be instrumental in supporting education in our state, by getting the business community further engaged in our student's lives and finding ways to highlight those best practices in our schools that have lead to rising student achievement."

Commissioner Horne was joined by Jan Smith, who will serve as chairman of the Foundation, at the group's first meeting. The Foundation will be involved in education initiatives that lead to higher student achievement, working with local education foundations throughout the state and recognizing excellence through award programs.

"The business community has long understood the importance of quality education," said Chairman Smith. "Florida is moving in the right direction and I look forward to leading an organization that will encourage all Floridians to invest in the future of our state."

The goals of the Florida Education Foundation include initiating and encouraging meaningful business involvement in schools, equipping students with 21st century core skills, and promoting effective education practices. Membership is as follows:

  • Mr. Jan E. Smith, Jan Smith & Company, Bradenton (Foundation Board Chairman)

  • Ms. Carrie Morgridge, Philanthropist and Education Supporter, Maitland/Orlando

  • Mr. Ruben King Shaw, Scripps Florida Funding Corporation, Miami

  • Dr. Ranley Desir, M.D., Aventura

  • Ms. Susan James, Washington Mutual, Miami

  • Mr. Derrick Brooks, Derrick Brooks Charities, Inc. and Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Tampa

  • Mr. Nirmal K. (Trip) Tripathy, Burdines-Macy's, Miami

  • Mrs. Susie Transou, Tri-Eagle Sales, Tallahassee

  • Sen. Bob Crawford, Former Florida Agriculture Commissioner and President of Florida Senate, Lakeland

  • Ms. Linda Byrd, Clear Channel Florida, Orlando

  • Ms. Michele Cooper, Dairy Farmers Inc., Maitland

  • Mrs. Dayle Timmons, Florida's Teacher of the Year, Jacksonville (ex officio member)

  • Ms. Stacy Carlson, Consortium of Florida Education Foundations, Tampa (ex officio member)

  • Deputy Commissioner Fred Mattingly, Resource Development and Planning, Florida Department of Education, Tallahassee (ex officio member)

  • Deputy Commissioner Ray Monteleone, Chief Education Financial Officer, Florida Department of Education, Tallahassee (ex officio member)

The Florida Education Foundation is a non-profit organization and a member of the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations. Fred Leonhardt of Gray Robinson Law Firm in Orlando has agreed to serve as counsel to the foundation. For more information please visit,