Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


April 2, 2004

Frances Marine or
MacKay Jimeson
(850) 245-0413

Florida Community College Officials Receive Phi Theta Kappa Awards of Distinction

MINNEAPOLIS, MN — Florida Chancellor of Community Colleges and Workforce Education David Armstrong and Dr. Robert Chunn, president of the Hillsborough Community College Dale Mabry Campus today were awarded the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction at the 86th International Convention of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the two-year college. They were among a select group of twenty-four administrators to receive the prestigious award this year.

Also recognized at the 86th International Convention were Dr. Willis Holcombe, former President of Broward Community College and Dr. Robert Judson, President of Pasco Hernando Community College, who received the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award. The Bennett award is presented to retiring college presidents for outstanding achievements.

"This is a great honor, which I am proud to share with all of Florida's Phi Theta Kappa members," Chancellor Armstrong said. "Phi Theta Kappa is an excellent addition to Florida's community college system and complements our commitment to student success."

The Shirley B. Gordon award is given to those who have provided extensive support and a variety of resources to a college's Phi Theta Kappa chapters. College administrators are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa.

Under the leadership of David Armstrong, the Division of Community Colleges and Workforce Education has coordinated the Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Team as a means of recognizing the outstanding students attending Florida's two-year colleges for ten years.

"David Armstrong has devoted himself to the mission of the community college and epitomizes Phi Theta Kappa's commitment to excellence. His support is essential to Phi Theta Kappa's success in the state of Florida," said Rod A. Risley, Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director.

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest, and most prestigious honor society serving two-year and community colleges in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, and U.S. territorial possessions. Approximately 90,000 students are inducted annually in the Society's 1,200 chapters.