Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff MyFlorida.com

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room

 

  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search

MEDIA ADVISORY

January 12, 2004

Frances Marine
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Jim Horne, Community Colleges Chancellor David Armstrong and Community College Presidents to Hold Telephone Press Conference Call From Scripps Research Institute
Group to discuss role of Community Colleges in producing trained workers for Scripps Florida during visit to Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla

LA JOLLA — Education Commissioner Jim Horne, Community Colleges Chancellor David Armstrong, and Community College presidents from Broward Community College, Florida Community College at Jacksonville, Santa Fe Community College, St. Pete College, and Tallahassee Community College will visit the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla tomorrow. The group will discuss how Florida's Community Colleges might produce trained workers for Scripps Florida.

They will meet with several Scripps officials to tell them about the programs Florida already has at several colleges and plans to expand those programs. They will also ask what Scripps needs in laboratory technicians and other workers and seek to design programs to meet those needs.

Following several meetings and a tour of the campus, the group will hold a telephone press conference call at:

12:30 p.m. pacific time (3:30 p.m. EST). - 1:00 p.m. pacific time (4:00 p.m. EST)
Tuesday, January 13, 2004
Scripps Research Institute
Conference Center
La Jolla, California