Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


December 11, 2003

Frances Marine
(850) 245-0413

David Bishop

Uhlfelder & Associates
(850) 201-0888

Pat Schaefer
Fulbright Board
(202) 619-4290

Board of Governors Member Steven Uhlfelder Elected Chair of J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board
Chair of Board of Governors Performance & Accountability Committee to head up international educational exchange program

WASHINGTON, DC — Board of Governors member and Tallahassee attorney Steven J. Uhlfelder became chair of the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board following his election by its members today in Washington, DC. Mr. Uhlfelder will lead the 12 member board, which is appointed by the President and oversees the United States' flagship international educational exchange program.

"This is a tremendous honor for me to chair this prestigious board," said Mr. Uhlfelder. "I've dedicated my life to improving opportunities for students. I look forward to carrying out the vision and goals of Senator Fulbright of increasing mutual understanding among nations through educational and cultural exchanges."

Uhlfelder was appointed to the Fulbright Board by President George W. Bush in 2001. He has served on the Board's Executive Committee since his appointment to the board. During the past year, Uhlfelder served as Vice Chair.

"Steve Uhlfelder will be an excellent leader of the Fulbright Board," said Senator Birch Bayh, a veteran Board member. "Not only will he help maintain this board's wonderful tradition, Steve will also guide the program in new directions that will enhance our critical mission."

In addition to his service on the Fulbright Board, Mr. Uhlfelder was selected by Governor Jeb Bush to serve on both the Florida Board of Governors for the state university system and the Board of Trustees for Florida State University. Mr. Uhlfelder also chair's the Governor's Mentoring Initiative, which has recruited over 130,000 Floridians to guide at-risk children in our public schools. He also currently co-chairs Florida Campus Compact, a statewide organization which promotes service on Florida college campuses. In previous years, he was also a member and past Chairman of the Florida Board of Regents as well as a member of the Southern Regional Education Board.

"Steve Uhlfelder has been an asset to the Board of Governors and a leader in Florida's education system," said Education Commissioner Jim Horne. "We extend our congratulations and are confident that he will make Florida proud in his new role."

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board was created by Congress to supervise the Fulbright educational exchange program. The board is a presidentially-appointed, independent body that formulates the policies, procedures, and selection criteria which govern the Fulbright Program. Currently, the program operates in 140 countries. It has provided more than 250,000 participants, selected for their academic achievement and leadership potential, the opportunity to observe each other's political, economic and cultural institutions, exchange ideas, and embark on important joint ventures. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 4,500 new grants annually. There are many distinguished Fulbright alumni including 34 Nobel Prize winners.

The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation by the United States Congress. Foreign governments and private organizations contribute through cost-sharing and indirect support. The Congressional appropriation for the Fulbright Program in fiscal year 2003 is $122.9 million. Foreign governments contribute an additional $28 million directly to the Fulbright Program.