Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


December 2, 2003

Frances Marine
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Jim Horne Names Education and Public Safety Officials to K-20 Education Safety Partnership

TALLAHASSEE — Education Commissioner Jim Horne today greeted twenty-two education and public safety officials, who gathered in Tallahassee for the first meeting of the K-20 Education Safety Partnership. Horne announced the partnership, which will serve as a K-20 education safety resource to the Florida Domestic Security Oversight Board, in September.

"Students thrive and learn in schools, colleges, and universities that have a safe environment," said Commissioner Horne. "This partnership will allow us to address the safety concerns as we continue to focus on improving student achievement."

The members named today represent K-12 public schools, community colleges, universities, law enforcement, and first responders, such as fire departments and emergency medical providers.

Members of the partnership are as follows:

  • Carlos Alfonso, University Board of Trustees
  • Dan Barto, Director of Campus Safety and Security, Eckerd College
  • Carol Calfee, Santa Rosa District Schools, Member Regional Domestic Security Task Force-Education Subcommittee
  • School Board Member Ron Crawford, Marion County Public Schools
  • Deputy Howard Day, Seminole County Sheriff's Office, School Resource Officer
  • Allison DeFoor II, Executive Director, Earth Balance, Community Member
  • Linda Eads, State Board of Education, Ex Offcio
  • Helen Ellison, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs, Florida International University
  • Principal Robert Hatcher, Lake Worth Community Middle School, School District of Palm Beach County
  • Chief James Kelly, Palm Beach District School Police Department
  • Fred Miller, Volusia County Schools, School District Safety/Security Coordinator
  • Superintendent Bill Montford, Leon County Schools
  • Dr. Deborah Mulligan-Smith, Pediatric Services and Emergency Medical Services for Children
  • Safety and Security/Police Chief Nancy Newland, Pensacola Junior College
  • Susan Reiter, Director of Facilities Planning and Institutional, St. Petersburg College
  • Howard Rock, Florida Board of Governors, Florida International University
  • Vice President Tony Stallworth, Facilities and College Services, Broward Community College
  • Teacher of the Year Dayle Timmons, Chets Creek Elementary School, Duval County Public Schools
  • Ken Tucker, Florida Department of Law Enforcement, Florida Domestic Security Oversight Board Member
  • James Uhlir, Director of Environmental Health and Safety, University of Central Florida
  • Chief Richard Williams, Gainesville Fire Rescue
  • Frank Zenere, School Counselor, Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Horne also unveiled the partnership's new website,, which provides information to the public on safety and security in Florida's schools, colleges and universities.

Each year, the Partnership will submit a report to Commissioner Horne including recommendations of appropriate legislation and regulations regarding school and campus safety, information on the current state of safety and security programs across the educational system, a status of the K-20 safety and security electronic clearinghouse, and a summary of revisions to the Florida Best Practices for Safety and Security.

K-20 Education Safety Partnership
December 2, 2003
1706 Turlington Building,
Tallahassee, Florida
10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.


Introductions,  Welcome, and Opening Remarks

Jim Horne, Commissioner

Jim Warford, Chancellor, K-12

Debra Austin, Chancellor, Universities and Community Colleges

Bonnie Marmor, Vice Chancellor , Community Colleges


Government in the Sunshine/Ethics

Scott Odenbach, Office of the General Counsel, DOE



Overview of Current K-12 Safe Schools Activities

Lorraine Allen, DOE, and

Chief Jim Kelly, Palm Beach County Schools


Lunch on Your Own



Overview of Current Universities Safety Activities


Tom Jacobson, FSU


Overview of Current Community Colleges Safety Activities


David Klaitz, Executive Director, Florida Community College Risk Management Consortium


Piper Walton, Safety Officer, Florida Community College Risk Management Consortium



Overview of Florida Domestic Security Task Force Activities

Steve Lauer, Chief, Domestic Security, FDLE


Partnership Emerging Issues

Shan Goff, Deputy Chancellor, K-12, DOE, Facilitator


Appointment of Chair
Next Meeting


Partnership Chair