Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


September 17, 2003

Alia Faraj
(850) 488-5394

Frances Marine
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Horne Recognizes Florida's No Child Left Behind — Blue Ribbon Schools Winners

TALLAHASSEE — Education Commissioner Jim Horne today congratulated seven Florida schools honored under the No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools Program. The program recognizes schools that make dramatic improvements in achievement for disadvantaged students or for very high performing schools

"I applaud the students, teachers and staff for their hard work as we continue making progress toward higher achievement for all students in Florida," said Governor Bush. "The No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools program recognizes that all students can learn no matter their background."

The list of Florida schools receiving the No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools award is as follows:

  • Annunciation Catholic Academy, Altamonte Springs
  • Ascension Catholic School, Melbourne
  • Holy Name of Jesus School, Indialantic
  • Jacksonville Beach Elementary School, Jacksonville Beach
  • Pine View School for Gifted, Osprey
  • Saint Petersburg Christian School, St. Petersburg
  • St. Barnabas Episcopal School, DeLand

"I'm very pleased that our schools have performed at such a high level as to receive this award," said Horne. "Our focus continues to be on high academic achievement and this award recognizes the fact that it is truly happening in Florida."

Each state's chief state school officer nominates public schools and the Council for American Private Education nominates private schools to the U. S. Department of Education. Once the nominations are received, the secretary invites schools to submit applications for possible recognition.

The 2003 No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools will be recognized and honored at an awards ceremony with U.S. Secretary of Education Rod Paige in Washington, D.C., October 30-31.

For more information about the No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools program and a list of current winners, visit