Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Media Room

Media Room


  Media Room  

Text Index Google Custom Search


August 29, 2003

Frances Marine
(850) 245-0413

Education Commissioner Jim Horne Kicks Off New Advisory Council on Educational Facilities

TALLAHASSEE — Education Commissioner Jim Horne today kicked off the new Advisory Council on Educational Facilities. The Council, tasked with making recommendations to the State Board of Education relating to educational facilities in the K-20 system, met for the first time this week at Tallahassee Community College. Raymond Monteleone, the Department of Education's Deputy Commissioner and Chief Education Financial Officer, is chairman of the Council.

"Florida is one of the fastest growing states in the nation, with approximately 50,000 new students entering our education system each year," said Commissioner Horne. "As we examine the best way to address our need for educational facilities, the State Board and I look forward to considering the Council's suggestions."

The Council was handpicked and includes representatives from schools, colleges, universities, state government, law enforcement, and the private sector. It will recommend alternatives to minimize facilities funding needs, any necessary revisions in the facilities planning and budgeting processes, alternative funding sources, and methods for distributing available resources.

"This week's meeting confirmed my belief that this is an action-oriented group," said Monteleone. "Working together, we look forward to making recommendations that will have an impact."

The group discussed the required reviews and goals of the Council, the core approach plan, and made committee assignments. Each committee selected a chair and vice chair and began developing a review plan.

Howard Roland, of Windmere, will chair the Committee on Planning Process. Dr. Judy Genshaft, president of the University of South Florida, will serve as his vice chair. Steve Owens, associate professor at Tallahassee Community College, will chair the Committee on Budgeting Process. Carol Roberts, president of the Bay County Chamber of Commerce, will serve as his vice chair. Ray Ferrero, president of Nova Southeastern University, will chair the Committee on Creating Alternatives. Stephanie Swerdloff King, a teacher at Design & Architecture Senior High School and the 2000 Teacher of the Year, will serve as his vice chair.

The Council will meet on a monthly basis and is set to meet again on September 30 in Orlando. A list of Council members is attached.