Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > State Board of Education

State Board of Education


  State Board of Education  

Text Index Google Custom Search

State Board of Education Agenda

Budget Workshop to Explore Productivity, Efficiencies, and Innovation in Funding Education* (Supplemental information provided at the meeting available below.)

Kathleen Shanahan, Chair
Roberto Martínez, Vice Chair
Gary Chartrand
Akshay Desai
Barbara Feingold
John R. Padget

August 2, 2011

Tampa Airport Marriott
Tampa, Florida

9:00 a.m. Welcome Chair Kathleen Shanahan
Commissioner Gerard Robinson
  1. Overview of Funding
Linda Champion, Deputy Commissioner, Finance and Operations
  1. Estimating Conference Updates
    1. General Revenue Outlook
    2. Ad Valorem Revenue
    3. Estimating Conference Schedule
Amy Baker, Legislative Office of Economic and Demographic Research
  1. Initially Approved SBE Budget Guidelines Compared to a Constructed K-12 Budget
John Newman, Senior Advisor for Legislative and Budget Policy
  1. Review of Policies Relating to School District Administrative Expenditures and Costs
    1. School Districts
    2. Florida College System

Linda Champion
John Holdnak, Vice Chancellor for Financial Policy
  1. Presentations on Budget Efficiency Measures & Recommendations
    1. School District Superintendents
      1. Alberto Carvalho, Miami-Dade
      2. Mary Ellen Elia, Hillsborough
      3. Tim McGonegal, Manatee
      4. Carlene Anderson, Walton
    2. Florida College Presidents
      1. Joe Pickens, St. Johns River State College
      2. Eduardo Padron, Miami-Dade College
      3. Eileen Holden, Polk State College
      4. Ed Massey, Indian River State College
    3. Charter Schools
      1. Jon Hage, Chairman, President and CEO, Charter Schools USA
      2. Linda Dawson, Superintendent/CEO, School for Integrated Academics and Technologies (SAITech)
      3. Dr. George Kafkoulis, Governing Board Chair, Archimedean Academy - Miami-Dade
    4. Voluntary Prekindergarten Program (VPK)
      1. David Lawrence, President, Early Childhood Initiative Foundation
    5. Other Invitees:
      1. Andy Ford, Florida Education Association
      2. Don Pemberton, Florida Master Teacher Initiative
      3. Emilio Alonso-Mendoza, President, Take Stock in Children
      4. Ron Blocker, Superintendent of Orange County School District and President, Florida Association of District School Superintendents
      5. Lee Swift, Chairman of the Charlotte County District School Board and President of the Florida School Boards Association
      6. Juhan Mixon, Executive Director, Florida Association of School Administrators
      7. Patricia Levesque -- Executive Director, Foundation for Excellence in Education
  1. Board Discussion and Direction for Budget Development -- Additional Funding Priorities
  1. Next Steps
  1. Adjournment
Chair Kathleen Shanahan

*Material below is provided as background information:

Information Provided at the State Board Meeting