Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Outstanding School Volunteers Recognized

The 2010 School Volunteers have been named by the Florida Department of Education in recognition of their outstanding dedication and commitment to quality education in Florida. The winners were selected based on the number of volunteer hours of service, years of service and a unique contribution or characteristic of their services. The award recognizes a student, adult and senior volunteer in each of Florida’s five reporting regions. Each winner received a congratulatory letter from Education Commissioner Dr. Eric J. Smith and a plaque sponsored by the Florida Association of District School Superintendents.

The 2010 Outstanding School Volunteers are:


  • Region 1 – Darius Hands, Lincoln High School, Leon County
  • Region 2 – Lindley Simpson, Alice B. Landrum Middle School, St. Johns County
  • Region 3 – Yuridia (Judy) Lindo, Space Coast Junior/Senior High School, Brevard County
  • Region 4 – Ben Carpenter, C. Leon King High School, Hillsborough County
  • Region 5 – Clarke Bowman, Cresthaven Elementary School, Broward County


  • Region 1 – Kelly Edelman, Lula J. Edge Elementary School, Okaloosa County
  • Region 2 – Derek Bentley, Glen Springs Elementary School, Alachua County
  • Region 3 – Suzanna Seymour, Vero Beach Elementary School, Indian River County
  • Region 4 – Barbara Southwick, Corkscrew Elementary School, Collier County
  • Region 5 – Debbie Ellman, Spanish River High School, Palm Beach County


  • Region 1 – Colin Lyons, Longleaf Elementary School, Escambia County
  • Region 2 – Jesse Butz, Eastside High School, Alachua County
  • Region 3 – Henry Casto, Grassy Lake Elementary School, Lake County
  • Region 4 – Edward Schwartz, Tampa Bay Boulevard Elementary School, Hillsborough County
  • Region 5 – Margaret Bodden, Key Largo School, Monroe County