Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Students ‘Book It’ to Win Statewide Breakfast Bookmark Contest

As part of Florida’s celebration of School Breakfast Week Sept. 14 – 18, a statewide bookmark contest with the theme, Ready, Set, Go…Book It to Eat School Breakfast, encouraged students to collect stickers for their “breakfast bookmark” each day they ate breakfast at school. Students with five stickers were eligible to win prizes. Winners in the elementary, middle and high school categories received a “Breakfast Bonus Bag” with a $50 bookstore gift card, and school nutrition managers demonstrating a commitment to the school breakfast program received a $100 bookstore gift card and “Got Milk?” goodies.

The winners include:


  • 1st place – Morgan Simoga, 5th grade, Chiefland Elementary School, Levy County
  • 2nd place – Janel Garcia, Kindergarten, Ernest Graham Elementary School, Miami-Dade County
  • 3rd place – Kida Bailey, Kindergarten, Edge Elementary School, Okaloosa County
  • School Food Service Manager – Robin Egar, Turner Elementary School, Brevard County

Middle School

  • 1st place – Maria Pimentei, 6th grade, Dr. Rolando Espinosa K-8 Center, Miami-Dade County
  • 2nd place – Alora Beckham, 6th grade, Cedar Key School, Levy County
  • 3rd place – Robert Desdin, 6th grade, Paul Bell Middle School, Miami Dade County
  • School Food Service Manager – Sonya Mincey, Mulberry Middle School, Polk County

High School

  • 1st place – Tiffany Jean, 12th grade, Bayside High School, Brevard County
  • 2nd place – Steven Bainbridge, 10th grade, Cedar Key School, Levy County
  • 3rd place – Angela Crooks, 10th grade, Heritage High School, Brevard County
  • School Food Service Manager – Tally Schneider, Bayside High School, Brevard County

The bookmark contest was sponsored by The Dairy Council of Florida in conjunction with the Department of Education’s Office of Food and Nutrition Management. Congratulations to all the winners!