Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Outstanding Agricultural Educators Announced

The Florida Association of Agricultural Educators (FAAE) announced the 2009 Outstanding Educator winners during the June 12 state FFA convention. Each of the individuals selected exhibit the highest level of teaching and promoting agricultural education within their communities. Congratulations to the following statewide winners:

  • Outstanding Teacher
    • Brett Brandner of DeLand High School was recognized for his commitment to excellence in the classroom and his studentís outstanding accomplishments within his agriscience program.
  • Turn the Key
    • Amanda James of Union County High School and Jessica Blythe of Baker County High School, both in their first three years of teaching, were awarded the Turn the Key Award in recognition of their outstanding work so early in their careers.
  • Outstanding Young Teacher
    • Anthony Peace of Middleton High School was selected because of his innovative teaching methods and enthusiasm for teaching of agriscience.
  • Outstanding Program
    • Williston High School was honored as the top program in agricultural education for effectively communicating the success of its students within the program.
  • Ideas Unlimited
    • Kathy Weaver of Hinson Middle School is the Florida and the Region 5 NAAE National winner and was selected based on her Best Practices presentation of a specific classroom and unique teaching ideas.

All of the winners will be recognized during the FAAE annual meeting in August, and will each represent Florida in their respective categories during the national convention. The National Association of Agricultural Educators will recognize six national winners, one from each region, per awards program. Regional winners will receive an engraved plaque, and a complimentary trip to the NAAE convention, including accommodations.