Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Two Outstanding Florida High School Students Selected For U.S. Senate Youth Scholarship Program

Two outstanding Florida high school seniors have been selected to represent the state and will be able to witness federal government in action as part of the United States Senate Youth Program funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. Troy Daly of Deerfield Beach High School in Broward County and Steven Waldorf of Fort Myers High School in Lee County will receive $5,000 scholarships to assist with their future college studies. The two Florida students selected for the program will join 102 other delegates March 7ó14, 2009, for the programís 47th Annual Washington Week.

In addition to the two students selected to participate in the program and represent Florida, two alternates were also selected. Alternates may be asked to participate in the Washington, D.C., program in the event one of the selected delegates cannot attend. The alternates from Florida are Heather McIntyre of Sebring High School and Jeffrey Butler of Durant High School.

The program was established in 1962, and more than 4,600 students have participated in this unique leadership program. Each year, this program of the United States Senate brings two students from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity to Washington to experience an intensive week-long program educational program about the workings of the Senate and the federal government overall.