Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Three Florida Teachers Selected as Finalists for Presidential Award

Timothy Kenney, a math teacher at Mandarin Oaks Elementary, in Duval County, and two Brevard County elementary science teachers, Michelle Ferro, West Melbourne Elementary School, and Wendy Shelden, Ralph Williams, Jr. Elementary School, were selected as Florida finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

The PAEMST, the country’s highest honor for K-12 teachers of math and science, is administered by the National Science Foundation. It was enacted by Congress in 1983 and authorizes the president to bestow up to 108 awards each year on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The finalist selected as the state recipient will receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation, as well as a trip for two to Washington, D.C., for a weeklong series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. Award winners will be announced right before the trip, which occurs this spring.