Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home > Success Stories

Success Stories


  Success Stories  

Text Index Google Custom Search

More Success Stories >>

Organizations Honor Polk Teachers

Brett Hartley, a teacher at Winter Havenís Denison Middle, was named Air Force Association (AFA) Teacher of the Year for 2007 by the Central Florida Chapter of the AFA. The AFA recognizes outstanding teachers enhancing aerospace and science education.

Gary Robertson of Haines Cityís Boone Middle and Debbie Kennon of Bartow High were named 2007 Teachers of the Year by the Central Florida Section of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). Robertson was named Math Teacher of the Year while Kennon was named Science Teacher of the Year.

Teacher Jessica Fredricks of Haines Cityís Bethune Academy received a 2007 Elementary School Grant from AIChE for $560. The grant was used to purchase books and CDs to enhance and strengthen essential mathematics skills in primary grades.